Own Little World

January 6, 2011:

Greetings and welcome to my own little world. I am Xara Nahara O’Connor, the pen name of Sayre Nicole Jones. I am a college student at the University of Mount Union who makes good marks in school. I usually make As and my Grade Point Average is 3.7. I am very proud of my grades because I work very hard to get them. I think that I get my “good” grades because I am intelligent and diligent in my studies. I also do not worry too much about the social scene because I did not attend college to make friends. I came to college to get a bachelor’s degree and to learn something. When I am not keeping my nose in a book, I am observing the people around me from a distance. Just because I am not social, it does not mean that I do not learn about people. I am a psychology major; thus, I obviously want to know why people do what they do. I am also an English and a theatre minor. Writing is my passion because it allows me to work out many problems. My writing is the mathematics that makes sense to me, since I am not quite proficient at mathematics. A sentence to me is like a part of a math problem because it helps me become closer to solving whatever problem is posed to me.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

January 7, 2011:

Welcome to a world where my mind is blank. I have not done much of consequence today because I needed to have a relaxing day just before the first week of school. I am putting a package together for my friend who lives in Lakewood, Ohio. It includes my old mp3 player, some AAA batteries, a connector cord to a computer, some beads, a butterfly sponge, and a letter. I have yet to print out the letter, since I do not have a printer. I will need to go to the computer lab on campus to print it.

At the moment, I am charging my Ipod Touch, so that I can listen to music such as Celldweller, Enya, Dimmu Borgir, Suffocation, Tool, R.E.M., Janet Jackson, and Disturbed while I am on the go. Celldweller is a dark techno/industrial band that sounds heavier than Orgy. For the few people who may not have heard of Enya, she is a “new-age” music artist. Her music is rather calming. I would highly recommend it for people who are undergoing a large amount of stress. Dimmu Borgir is a black metal band that sings about Satanism. It sounds somewhat like Emperor. Suffocation is a heavy metal band that makes hard rock look like it is wearing diapers. Tool is a progressive metal/rock band that has its own unique sound. The lead singer, James Maynard Keenan, is actually part of A Perfect Circle, which is the only other band that I know that sounds similar to Tool. I would not say that Symphony X or Opeth has quite a similar sound to Tool, even though these bands are progressive metal. R.E.M. is a rock band that originated in the 1980s and played through the 1990s and 2000s. It is what I could call “college rock” because it actually started when the members were in college. Janet Jackson is a 1980s pop singer who used to be part of the Jackson 5; she is quite legendary, and I would be very surprised if any adult has not heard of her by now. Disturbed is a hard rock band (not metal, and if it is classified as metal, I would say very light metal) that started in the 1990s and continues unto today. Many college students have probably heard of this band.

While I am on the topic of music, I would say that my favorite kind of music out of all of the kinds that I listen to is industrial. I especially love the industrial music that is a mix of metal and hardcore techno. Celldweller, Psyclon Nine, Combichrist, God Module, and Velvet Acid Christ are bands to which I am almost always in the mood to listen. I am usually in the mood to listen to any metal like Suffocation, Dimmu Borgir, Emperor, Tvangeste (which is more progressive in nature), Strapping Young Lad, and Dark Funeral. I sometimes even like listening to even more obscure bands like Tyranny Enthroned (my brother is the lead singer), Planet X, Conspectu Mortis, and Satyricon. All of these obscure bands that I happened to have listed are some kind of metal. I would say that I would classify as somewhat of a metal head (at least compared to the rest of the population that attends the University of Mount Union).

Since there is no smooth segue that I can make from metal music to the extreme snowy tundra that exists outside of my apartment, I will just say that I have not been outside that much today because it has been quite cold indeed. I am not a fan of the snow unless I am looking outside of my window and not required to go out in it. I grew up in the south; thus, my skin has not quite become acclimated to the snowy wind that would touch my face in the event that I am outside. I have lived in Ohio for about four years now, and I am still wondering why I do not migrate south for the winter. I also heard that there was a white Christmas in Georgia in 2010, and it had not happened since the 1800s. While white Christmases to normal people would be a good thing to celebrate and is a normal phenomenon for the resident northerners, I find them to be quite despicable. I would prefer a Christmas where the temperature is 50+ degrees and overcast outside. There would no snow to have a chance to freeze my feet or to make it brighter outside than necessary. The ground would have its normal greenish brown color. That Christmas would have a low chance of happening anywhere besides the south.

When I graduate college, I will plan to move to the south to avoid the coldness that exists up here. I am thinking somewhere like Louisiana. It seems like a nice place. I will not move to New Orleans, though. It should be under the ocean because Hurricane Katrina delivered some destruction to the city that is 50 feet BELOW the sea level. I don’t know about the rest of the world, but I would have the common sense not to live anywhere below sea level. At least if I lived at sea level, I would have a small chance of evacuating the city in the event of a hurricane like Hurricane Katrina, which was category FIVE, by the way. Like many Americans, I do not understand why this country decided to let New Orleans become rebuilt. It is 50 feet below sea level. Those people should just move to some of the northern cities in Louisiana. I am sure that Mardi Gras would be safely held in any of those cities, and there would be no chance of a hurricane wiping out unsuspecting tourists.

Speaking of tourists, my mother and I call tourists who are morons tourons. There were a lot of those who visited Savannah, Georgia when I used to live there. They are truly some of the world’s worst drivers. My uncle reminds me every time I go to visit Savannah (but I am not the one driving) because he yells at other drivers on the road. I become highly amused when he yells at them because he is a funny man when he is annoyed. This is the same man who yells at a large yellow spoon that never wants to go in its drawer. That spoon usually drops to the floor, and he would attempt to place the spoon in the drawer multiple times. After the seventh time, he would give up and yell at the spoon. “You stay down there, spoon! Fine! Don’t get in the drawer! I’m not picking you up. Uh-uh,” he would say. He would also add words that would be considered inappropriate for young children in these descriptions. I remember that he yelled at this spoon for 20 minutes when I was in high school. I laughed the entire time and lost five pounds. I do not know what is not funny about a grown man yelling at a “cursed” spoon.

I am the only person I know that will include a grown man yelling at a spoon in a blog. I will also probably include many other quirky things in here that no one else would possibly think about, including my obsessive ways of doing homework. I am sure that as the semester progresses, there will be a highly-detailed description about how I am doing an assignment. I am quite obsessive about how I do my own work.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

