Last Day Before the Beginning of the Last Semester

I must say that I am quite prepared for my last semester at the University of Mount Union. I have been looking forward to graduating since the fifth week of my first semester at college. Once I have my bachelor’s degree, the hard work that I have been doing at the university will be worth it. The degree was quite an expensive piece of paper; however, I would say the trade of $120,000+ and my blood, sweat, and toil for the previous seven semesters for a bachelor’s degree that symbolizes my accomplishments and my first step into my career, which could be selling cosmetics for Mary Kay, counseling, or even being a librarian, was worth it. I will also be the first child of my mother and father to graduate a four-year university, which will be an exciting endeavor. I have made it further in secondary education than my mother has, at least. The prospect of graduation is so close that I can smell it, and it smells much like fresh air. Perhaps I will be an adult after I graduate.

I do not see any negative effects of graduating from University of Mount Union at all. Although I have friends on campus, I will not find myself missing them too terribly because I know that most of them will graduating by my side. Some of my friends that used to attend school with me graduated as well; thus, I would love to join them. For those of my friends who will not graduate with me, I will not miss them too much either because I know that they, too, will graduate some day. I also understand that I cannot always be with my friends; thus, I am not too worried about the prospect of being apart from them.

In fact, despite having many friends, I still classify myself as a loner. I have spent a large amount of time on campus alone, whether I was reflecting upon my day, doing homework, or walking around campus just to get a breath of fresh air. I am not a part of a clique and never will be. I am far too independent to need such a thing. People could argue that I had my extremely small “circle” of friends, but I did not spend every waking moment with them. I had other friends besides them.  I will admit that I miss three particular individuals with whom I spent my time when I was not alone. Two of them are male; the other is female. I know that they will never return to campus as students, and when the semester ends, neither will I.

Next semester seems promising, since I only have four classes, two jobs, and volunteering at the Alliance Community Hospital. I will actually have time to spend doing the things that I enjoy, such as writing what I want to, taking walks, and going to get coffee with friends. I will also have time to study for the GRE, apply for graduate schools, work on my resume, curriculum vitae, and personal statement, and write an article for the Dynamo, the University of Mount Union’s newspaper. I may even have time to write a cover letter.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

