First Day of Last Semester

It’s my first day back to school, as my readers would know, and it is exhausting, as first days usually are. I woke up, took my large regimen of supplements, ate a piece of cheese for breakfast, showered, brushed my teeth, washed my face, got dressed, and sent my package to a friend of mine to the post office. I did all of these things before my first class at 10 a.m.

That class was my Acting I class, and I did nothing but think of my memories of being backstage for The Spitfire Grill. I thought of one male actor who would sleep whenever he was off stage, and somewhat of the blond costume tech person who happened to also be a male. I thought of myself hiding in the shadows, in my entirely black garb (which is what the backstage people wore; I was the assistant stage manager who wasn’t a complete witch). I would watch these boys, fascinated with their male-like antics. It was something to do while the other technical people would leave me out of their loop. So there I stood, in the shadows, blissfully being unnoticed; the bliss was mostly mine. All of these memories rushed in my head within the 48 minutes of the class. I have a feeling I will be distracted easily, like just now.

After class, I worked at the library for two hours. I did my usual task of labeling, stamping, and placing stickers on books. My co-workers and I were rather quiet because we did not have much to talk about; I listened to Dis Pater, one of my favorite bands, while I worked. My music did not disrupt everyone else’s work. After work, I went to have lunch with my friend, Myla. She did most of the talking, and I did most of the eating. Remember, I had just eaten a piece of cheese today before going to lunch, and it been four hours since I had eaten.

At 2 p.m., I went to my Theories and Practices of Editing class and learned that the world is a confusing place without capital letters and punctuation. I was ready to tear my hair out by the time my editing class exercise was finished. Rodney, the professor, would probably laugh if he read the previous sentence. After class and taking an hour to myself, I went to volunteer at the hospital. I am back on the Internet after dinner and going swimming. I am now reflecting upon the quite busy day I have had. Tomorrow will be busy, too.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

