Untitled

January 31, 2011: Here is the stanza from Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s “The Rime of the Ancyent Marinere” that I want to memorize:

He holds him with a glistening eye
The wedding guest stood still,
And listened like a three years’ child:
The Mariner hath his will.

I need to memorize it for my Romanticism class because my professor is a fan of his students memorizing things. I also like this stanza because it shows the power dynamic of the mariner who tells his tale of experience.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

February 1, 2011:  (I would have called this entry “Onions”) I went to the Alliance Community Hospital today to volunteer, and I saw a patient who reminded me of my friend who dropped out of college. They both had the same square-shaped face, bluish gray (perhaps hazel) eyes, same shaped nose (a long, semi-pointy nose), and even their lips were shaped similarly. Their eyes were both hypnotic. They were both super thin, too. It is odd that I was reminded of my friend while I was in one of the only places where I did not see him last semester. I tried not to think about it too much while I was there. Instead, I smiled and shook my head while moving to the next room.

The good news is that I did not think about chasing my friend with an onion like I did last semester. He hates onions with a passion, and I liked being rude to him for no particular reason. I talked about chasing him with an onion to several people several times throughout last semester. He would have been horrified if I had actually chased him with an onion. I actually came up with the idea at the hospital while talking to someone who hated onions as much as he does. I laughed maniacally as I thought of the idea. I am putting as my facebook “Xara Nahara O’Connor wants to chase a dork with an onion.”

It is amazing how seeing a patient who reminds me of someone I used to annoy entirely indirectly reminds me of onions. The logic of the sentence is as follows: I see patient, patient reminds me of someone I used to annoy, the hospital where I saw the patient reminds me of onions, someone I used to annoy hates onions, and I was reminded of my idea of chasing him with an onion.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

February 3, 2011: Yesterday was the first snow day I ever experienced at the University of Mount Union. Apparently, it was the first one since 1978. Thirty-three years later, guess what I did? I read three weeks worth of editing assignments. I discovered that I have been misusing the grammar of my own native language. I have been avidly studying the English language since I was 12 years old, and I still do not know all of the grammar conventions. Perhaps that is why I am not as good at being a student who studies the English language as the others are. Although I may have MUCH better ideas than they do, I just do not have a strong handle on the English grammar compared to them. Perhaps that is the reason I express my ideas awkwardly. I come to the epiphany that I may never be the perfect writer unless I gain a stronger handle on the building blocks on the English language, mainly grammar. As I write this entry, I am becoming self-conscious of my lack of grammatical skills and realizing that I may be in the process of making common mistakes. When I get my papers back from my professors, I am apprehensive to find what ignorant mistakes I have undoubtedly made in the expression of my ideas. On the flip side, I am better at handling the English language than most of my peers are. I also generally have a more poetic manner in which I express my ideas than almost all of my peers do. I suppose I have been sacrificing grammar skills for an “artistic” style of writing. I also place quotation marks around words that may not need them because those words simply express my opinion, and I recognize that others may disagree with my opinions.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

