My Chamber of Sorrow

My Chamber of Sorrow
by: Xara Nahara O’Connor

In my dark quarters, I am chained with thick ornaments to the stone wall
With scratches upon my soul, slashes of the holy whip upon my body
Crimson agony flooding the domain, screams of my soul filling every cavity
My eyes are sewn shut in the darkness, only the sight of my sins
I feel as the world continuously, rapidly slashes me with his whip
Hearing my ultrasonic screams and the laughter of the world
Here I am in my chamber of sorrow, under the weight of my own sins
I only could allow the tears to overflood my sewn eyes, and for my blood to spill
As the world whips all from me

I actually wrote this poem eight years ago, but it still describes how I am feeling lately. I’m feeling overwhelmed with moving and life changes. I’m glad that I am moving out of my parents’ house, but there are going to be a lot of changes. I’m unfortunately one of those people who doesn’t adjust easily to change very quickly. I feel like things are just happening too fast, and I don’t have the energy to really keep up. I just feel overwhelmed.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories poetryTags , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “My Chamber of Sorrow”

Leave a Reply

