Glitch

Glitch
by: Xara Nahara O’Connor

Passing through time and space
A shadow walking through people
Mere meets and greets
Merely attempting to flesh out this character
Feeling more and more lost as I attempt to connect
Lost in time
Lost in space
No structure or identity to a place
Create my own
Home is where my mind is
Distant I feel toward others
Never knowing when the connection will be lost

Maybe that’s why I hold so tightly until there is nothing left?
Maybe that’s why I give my all to others, or used to
Maybe I’m grasping for a sense of belonging
I remember him saying, “You belong with me”
I looked at him confused, “Belong?”
Belong…
What does that even mean?
A shadow belongs only with the sun

An epiphany
I only belong to the sun
A shadow, a darkness to the sun’s light
The secrets the sun would not want seen
Following the sun’s footsteps, attempting to bask in its light
Little do I know, but maybe that’s why I’m a sun child?
The heat and fire rising in my nature
Yet as the shadow I have fear
I’m slowly becoming embraced as the fire shadow
A sun’s light and darkness

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

