A Blurb In Time

A Blurb In Time
by: Xara Nahara O’Connor

Time, one of those concepts that I am unsure whether it’s real
It is present, past, and future
It repeats and doesn’t repeat itself
I faze in and out of time,
My emotions recollecting how I feel, felt, and would feel in any situation
Grasping onto what I do remember

I see my clock ever moving forward,
An invention of man
A linear frame of mind
When it comes to time
11:08 p.m. on August 8, 2015
I check my E-mail
Watch my boyfriend play Team Fortress
And watch a Youtube video about a compilation of sophomoric pranks
Many nights spent this way,
In the calm respites of my mind
Feeling satisfied that just being here without much other response than a laugh here and there

Meanwhile in the recesses of my mind,
My muse struggles to find me
She comes in during bits and pieces of this short time frame
She often leaves my poems unfinished,
Yet she is satisfied that she has communicated
Not overly concerned about fame or fortune
Just simply wanting to communicate
And to not be forgotten
In the rustle and bustle of daily living
In the rustle and bustle of daily postings to the new God called The Internet
Hardly a replacement for true Christianity,
If anyone would even begin to know the meaning without mocking it intentionally

This is more of a diary entry than a poem full of deep meaning and short, meaningful phrases
Just passing through the cell’s daily regiment of living
Perhaps I remember writing something like this a very, very long time ago
But it is in the recesses of my repressed mind
Something inaccessible
My cells returning to life
After a temporary slumber
Perhaps I will return to myself
A more relevant self that is more relevant to this time,
Whatever that means

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as a direct care professional. I was a psychology major and am hoping to get a master's degree in Business Administration with a concentration on healthcare... Somewhere. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, Borknagar, and Nightwish. And I'm married. But don't tell the government. They suck the fun out of it.

Categories UncategorizedTags , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “A Blurb In Time”

Leave a Reply

