[Poetry] A Double Feature: Word To Your Mother

Ode To Mothers With Mountains of Laundry

Piles of clothes that grow and grow
You chip away at the piles of shedded skin
Slave-driving the machines
Every spin cycle in tune with your needs
With the large piles of clothes seeming like monsters

You are the honorable warriors who tirelessly fight
For the cause of clean clothes
For the cause of the progression of daily living
For the cause of bringing bread
Clean clothes being the most basic of needs
Yet essential
Eternal appreciation your family has
Your duties never go unnoticed

Laundry,
This task is only bestowed upon the most honorable
Any who dismiss it as mundane are foolish
Mothers connect to their family through clothing
Preserving the identities their families have
Through cleansing their skins they use to face the world

Thank you, Mothers
You allow us to live in our comfortable skins
We consider you honorable warriors
For facing our misunderstood monsters of our murky laundry


To Those Birds With An Empty Nest

Hello, Mother Birds
I see your eggs have already hatched
And your birds have flown away
You are alone in your nest
Father bird gone out to provide for you
And your children have flown
Possibly to weave their own nests
And to be father birds of their lady birds

Fret not, Mother Birds
Your children are just following your natural progression
Just as you have when you left your mother’s nest
It is okay
This is natural
You have a right to your feelings

But just know this, Mother Birds
Your offspring still think of you
They think of you often
As they fly into the sky
And remember everything you taught them
They reflect your young days
Of flying high
They think of you
When they touch the sky
As they weave their nests
And possibly have chicks of their own
Knowing that you have made this all possible

Think of them leaving as your success, Mother Birds
Not because they don’t want to be around you anymore
They miss you
But they want to take their turn flying high
They want to build their own legacy
Just as you have built yours
You will always be with them in their thoughts
Because they will never forget the sacrifice you have made for them
To build their legacy, having you in mind
Your reflection is in the sky, Mother Birds
Not in your broken eggs that lie in your nest
Those are there to remind you that your legacy is a great one
And that it lives on in the sky

Xara Nahara O’Connor

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories comfort, family, mothers, poetryTags , , , 14 Comments

14 thoughts on “[Poetry] A Double Feature: Word To Your Mother”

  1. Great writing. You expressed everything so perfectly. Your laundry observations are so true. A mother knows her family well. And I simply loved the title “To Those Birds With An Empty Nest.” And you followed through with sweet prose. Good work.

    1. I tried. ::nods:: And yeah, as a person who does 90 percent of the laundry in the house, I know these things. And yeah, I was trying to connect with my mother in “To Those Birds With An Empty Nest” because when I went to college, she didn’t take empty nest syndrome too well. It took me seven years to figure out she was having that problem, so I wanted to tell her that I finally understood and was sorry for not seeing it before. Plus, I think I wrote those poems around Mother’s Day, as to try to be appropriate. My poetry and my prose seem to be a blurred line, because I suck at rhyming, so my poetry is really broken up prose. I try to have a deep meaning to make up for the lack of rhythm, if you will.

  2. ::bows:: And yeah, I will NEVER stop writing. That would be equal to stopping my breathing. That won’t happen as long as I can help it and as long as my brain is able to communicate and compose. Thank you so much. I really do appreciate your comments. It is nice to know that I am reaching out to someone.

  3. Both poems are a joy to read – I love these lines for m the first “Preserving the identities their families have,
    Through cleansing their skins they use to face the world”. Wish I had said that πŸ™‚ Excellent, thanks for sharing.

  4. A wonderful piece of writing.
    PS
    The link you provided won’t let
    me access the site.
    I’m probably doing something wrong. ☺️

Leave a Reply

