Data Entry

Data Entry
by: Xara Nahara O’Connor

From the moment I wake up, from each movement I make
I enter data
Data? What is data exactly?
According to dictionary.com,
And I paraphrase in my own words
Because I am simply in no mood to use quotations or citations at this moment
Data is information, facts, and statistics
I’d much rather focus on information,
Because to me that seems more true
Sensory information to be more precise
Facts are 100 percent truths and there are far too few for me to speculate
Statistics are mostly lies anyway, based on incomplete information
Just numbers that have specific meanings for specific situations and are inappropriately generalized
Causing mass confusion

Speaking of mass confusion, I completely digressed from the point I was making
Point is, I enter sensory data into my environment with each second
I wake up,
Move out of bed, making it empty
I am placing footprints on the floor as I walk to the restroom
There is data entry there, but you know… I think I’m overreaching, so I will just move onto where I get my coffee in the morning, afternoon, or evening or WHENEVER I WAKE UP
And literally turn my computer on
Again, entering data as I enter my finger into the button that turns on my computer
The mouse helps me enter data
As far as the computer knows, I’m just speaking in binary, 1s and 0s.
It’s a language that I don’t possess.
Others possess it, but I don’t.
I see things only as GUI presents it to me
GUI is the translator between my data and the computer’s data

Data entry
I request information about certain topics, mostly related to humanism, which is ironic given that I am speaking to a machine
I am requesting other data that others have entered about the subject
The computer is the translator between my data and the data of others
Isn’t it ironic that a computer acts as a universal way to connect to others,
When it itself is not human in the strictest defintion?
I’ve seen temperamental computers,
That have given me hassles about the data I enter
We have had many arguments with each other
Just as I have had with humans
I read the screen
And I respond
Humans, afterall, seem like data entry machines

My ideal job is data entry
It is the one thing that I have never failed at
Providing and receiving information
It’s the basic response to life
It’s motion
Very important even at its most basic level,
Without it
Stagnation would be the only existence
Death is when data stops being entered and received

When I shut down my computer,
That is when I go to bed
That is when I finish processing data for the day
And give both of our minds time to rest

Published by:

xaranahara

I am a graduate of the University of Mount Union. I work for ResCare HomeCare as an attendant. I was a psychology major. I am still interested in English and theatre. Writing has always been one of my passions, and such is why I decided to create this blog. I also love animals. When I am not working hard on whatever project I happen to have my hands on, I am at home playing with my animals. I live with two cats named Garfield and Oreo. I also love to listen to all kinds of music, such as The Birthday Massacre, Emilie Autumn, The Cruxshadows, The Cranberries, Celldweller, Emperor, R.E.M., Future Funk Squad, Symphony X, Einherjer, and Nightwish. Oh, and as of October 15, 2015, I'm engaged. I plan to get married on October 31, 2017.

Categories UncategorizedTags , 6 Comments

6 thoughts on “Data Entry”

  1. I was thinking this was about data entry as in data entry jobs lol…I got over 20 years in this field and love it but I see what you mean. It takes data entry to maintain blogs, websites, social networking and sharing information which I do pretty regularly..I live on the laptop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

